Healthy, homemade muesli bars that are tasty to boot.

Healthy muesli bar slice recipe

Healthy muesli bar slice recipe

Muesli bars are such a tasty, convenient snack for those times when a piece of fruit just won’t do the trick. The store-bought bars tend to be full of sugar and a list of ingredients with numbers instead of names. So after a bit of trial and error I have finally found a recipe for homemade muesli bars that is delicious, easy to make and not packed with processed sugar. The trick is not to eat them all at once!

Ingredients
2 cups of traditional rolled oats
1/2 cup of LSA (ground linseed, sunflower seeds and almonds)
1 cup of mixed dried fruit (I used a combination of cranberries, sultanas and diced apricots)
1/2 cup of mixed seeds and nuts (I used a combination of walnuts, pepitas and sunflower kernels)
3 eggs
1 teaspoon of vanilla (I used vanilla bean paste
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 cup of olive oil
1/4 cup of manuka honey (other honey would work)

Directions
– Preheat the oven to 160 C fan forced
– Mix oats, LSA, dried fruit, seeds and nuts and cinnamon together in a bowl
– In a separate bowl lightly whisk together eggs, olive oil, honey and vanilla
– Combine egg mixture with oat mixture until all combined
– Spoon into a slice tray lined with baking paper, smoothing mixture down
– Bake for 20-30 minutes, until golden brown
– Cool then cut into pieces

Recipe adapted from The Healthy Chef

More recipes.

18 comments
  1. Those sound great…I will have to give them a shot!
    I have vowed that this week is the week I stop buying Toddler C fruit sachets to stick in his diaper bag…time to branch out!

    • Laura said:

      Oh let me know how you go. Hope he likes them. Lachie devours them. Although be warned they kind of crumble a bit so best contain Toddler C while eating them, otherwise you’ll end up with muesli bits all over the house like me!

  2. Allie said:

    Just made these, so yummy! Defiantly hard to find a nice healthy bar but these are great! Thanks 🙂

    • Laura said:

      So happy they worked out for you! 🙂

  3. Carli said:

    This recipe is fantastic. Just came out of the oven. This is the best one I’ve come across, and its actually healthy!! Unlike some of the other recipes that come up when you search ‘healthy muesli bars’ that call for Tins of condensed milk and the like! Thankyou!!

    Carli 🙂

    • Laura said:

      Glad you liked it. I make them every couple of weeks too. So much better than the store-bought bars. I added dessicated coconut the other week and it was yummy too!

  4. suzanne said:

    am always looking for healthy muesli bars the ones you get in the supermarket full of sugar so will try these ones as they seem so nice if alright for children must be perfect for healthy adults so thankyou

    • suzanne said:

      can you tell me why you use manuka honey have made them beautiful

    • Laura said:

      Oh, hope you like them. Lachie DEVOURS them every time so you may need to hide a stash from the little ones, just for you!

  5. Janet said:

    Hi Laura, I looked everywhere for nice healthy muesli bars and tried yours and found them wonderful. I’ve only got me and my partner now as my children are grown. I gave my naturopath a taste and the recipe and she loved them too.I added choc chips so they would melt and hold it together a bit better. But who knew something with no sugar could taste so good.

  6. Elle said:

    Yum! These were absolutely delicious. Sick of spending $6-$8 on a box of muesli bars at the shop that are full of processed foods and sugar. And you get 4 or 6 measly bars in a box! This was amazing and packed with goodness for my family. I’m keeping this as a favourite. Thank you so much. Oh and I just used regular honey as I’ve never heard of manuka honey 🙂 also added dried pineapple pieces. Yummo. Thanks again! Elle 🙂

  7. brig said:

    Your reciple looks delicious. Given the egg, how would you recommend storing them? How long do you think they would last?

    • Laura said:

      I normally store them in the fridge. We eat ours within about 3-4 days as they are too yummy to last any longer.

      • brig said:

        Yes I understand when things are too good to last!

  8. Nyree said:

    I made up my mind this morning to make some healthy muesli bars. I searched the internet and read about 20 recipes and thought yours sounded the most appealing.
    I added some unsweetened coconut, chia seeds and used coconut oil instead of olive oil…. DELICIOUS!
    Adding this one to my favourites book 🙂
    Thnak you.

  9. sarah said:

    hi do you chop the nuts first or use them whole?

Leave a Reply

