Where the magic happens

Outside your comfort zone

I don’t fail well. For all Lachlan’s resilience, he didn’t inherit it from his mamma. As a child if I wasn’t naturally good at something I instantly wanted to give up. And when I didn’t succeed, the internal reprimanding was intense. As a thirteen year old girl, whose friends were her world, I failed to make the school state netball team that would compete in Sydney, where ALL my friends would be playing, because they made the team. So in a way only a thirteen year old girl can, I had a my-world-will-soon-end meltdown, because I wasn’t good enough, because I was missing out, because I felt so much like a GIANT failure. Thirteen year old girls don’t have much perspective.

With time, I’ve learned my strengths and for the most part, I’ve learned to stick to them. And while this has been a great strategy in preventing thirteen-year-old-girl-meltdowns it also means that I’ve avoided stepping out of my comfort zone. For eighteen months of full-time mammahood I’ve been safely cocooned within the notion that if I give my very best to Lachie, as his mum, then that will be enough. But my feet have been itchy and my mind has been wandering, eager for stimulation, for a challenge. And yet when a challenge presented itself I hesitated. Unsure. Despite knowing that I was capable. Despite having the piece of paper to prove it. And the family support to back me up. Despite it all, I hesitated. Because I was afraid of failing. Terrified in fact.

Yet two weeks after taking the leap into the grey of part-time self-employment I couldn’t be happier that I did. It’s early days yet, I know, and there will be challenges and no doubt failures ahead, but I feel like the biggest hurdle has already been overcome. I stepped outside that comfort zone. And began.

What about you, are you good at pushing yourself beyond what you know, what your comfort zone?

6 comments
  1. Nina said:

    I’m probably somewhere in the middle. I don’t shy away from change, but I do realize that it’s often some of the most difficult transitions in life. I always say that getting a new job, moving into a new apartment, and other life changes require at least 2 weeks of “feeling weird” as you get used to it.

    Still, being aware of that doesn’t make it any more pleasant. I just try to remind myself that it’ll pass and soon I’ll be a pro at this too. I think it’s easy to stay in our comfort zones because we’re afraid that what comes after might not be as good as what we have now. The unfortunate thing is that we won’t know until we actually take that leap.

    Best of luck to you, Laura! Give it some time, and I’m sure you’ll work it out real well.

    • Laura said:

      Thanks so much Nina. I’m getting to that point of starting to feel normal, which is nice. x Laura

  2. Congratulations on taking the leap.

    I have always loved change and yes I am not to happy about failure either but I’m very stubborn and will just keep trying until I find a level of success that I can be happy with.

    good luck in your part-time self employment can’t wait to hear more about it.
    x

    • Laura said:

      Thanks Julia. Stubbornness is a good quality sometimes I think. And it seems a certain amount of it is needed to run your own business.
      x Laura

  3. Go Girl Go!! Must say I mostly saw life as one big adventure after another and would never have coped with your grandfather if I hadn’t. We are all very different but I have faith in your abilities and am sure you will succeed. luv and hugs to the Monster. GG XXXx

  4. How exciting for your Laura, I can’t wait to hear more about it! Early days of starting your own business are daunting and scary, and yes, frequent bouts of self-doubt are not uncommon, but hopefully if it’s something you truly enjoy and believe in, you can push through and persevere! Excited for you. 🙂
    Ronnie xo

Leave a Reply

