Letting Go

Every now and then it hits me. The completely obvious and yet hard to comprehend idea that my little boy will someday be a grown man. And instantly a lump forms in my throat. And it’s hard to swallow, this realisation that with each new word he learns and every centimeter he grows, he is less and less my little boy and more and more his own person. It’s a part of parenting I wasn’t really prepared for.

When I imagine Lachie as a teenager, and then a grown man, a father, I see a life full of adventure and experience and love. A full life. It’s what I hope for him, more than anything. And yet I know all of these things mean I will have to let go, a bit more every time.

So for now, while I can, I cuddle him tightly and kiss him gingerly. And try my best to savour just how much he needs me, painfully aware it won’t last forever.

Am I bit crazy or do you think about these things too? Or is blissful denial a better strategy?

7 comments
  1. AmandaG said:

    I love this and relate to every single word.

  2. Regina said:

    Laura, at 10 Ethan is still my “little stalker” and Jackson still wants a cuddle from me every morning and as you know he is now taller than me!! Don’t worry, you have plenty of time.xx

    • Laura said:

      That is reassuring Regina. Your boys are being little angels by the way. And Lachie is LOVING having them here (as always!). x Laura

  3. Liv said:

    I would think it’s good to think about it a little bit. Changes belong to life and they are wonderful too.
    My Mum always wanted me to be independent I know that she is sad sometimes that I am living far away and that I moved out early but she always encouraged me too.
    She said she always prepared herself for the letting go. I think its a good thing to keep it in mind.
    But mainly enjoy the NOW.

    • Laura said:

      “Changes belong to life” – beautifully put Liv. And my mum sounds very much like yours.

      Enjoying the now, yes, I have to focus on this more sometimes I think. x laura

  4. I am completely the same. I want our boys to have a full life too, but at the same time, want to hold them close to me and protect them forever. I guess that’s just what being a mum is all about…
    Ronnie xo

    • Laura said:

      It’s a strange dichotomy isn’t it? But you’re right, it’s what being a mum is all about. x laura
      p.s. so excited for you that you are expecting another little one!

Leave a Reply

