The Perfect Poached Egg

I always thought I was especially challenged in the egg-poaching department. After some Instagram and Facebook consultation it turned out I wasn’t alone. So I consulted my ex-chef hubby about my egg-poaching disasters. Turns out for all the recipes that instruct to make whirlpools and pour the egg from a saucer, the trick is really that there is no trick at all.

How to make a perfect poached egg (instructions courtesy of Troy)

1. Add 2-3 tablespoons of white vinegar to a medium saucepan of water. Bring to a simmer just before boiling (97 degrees roughly). The water should have small bubbles but not be too turbulent as you need the white to be able to form around the yolk.

2. Crack an egg as close to the water surface as possible. Allow to cook for 2-3 minutes depending on how runny you like your eggs.

3. Remove with a slotted spoon and drain on some kitchen paper.

4. Enjoy! (I’ve been loving mine on grainy bread with soft goats cheese!)

TIPS: Use the freshest eggs you can get. Old eggs can get too runny and the white won’t form properly around the yolk.

3 comments
  1. I’m embarrassed to say that I have never once poached an egg in my entire life.
    If I ever attempt to, I shall come back to this post. đŸ™‚
    Your egg on toast looks sumptious.
    Ronnie xo

    • lauragofton said:

      You should try it, it’s a wonderful healthy and easy (once you get the hang of it!) breakfast! x

Leave a Reply

