The Bedtime Wrangle

What is it about five o’clock that makes kids go so totally feral? If the Monster isn’t stretching my dress to within an inch of its elastic he’s incessantly uttering ‘hold, hold, hold’ until I pick him up, trying my best to cook spaghetti bolognaise with one arm. It’s a humorous sight if you’re not covered in tomato paste with a twelve kilo toddler hanging from your hip. Once dinner is done and the clean-up of artistically splattered spaghetti sauce completed, the bed/bath routine commences.

Lately I’ve been sharing a shower with Lachie for the simple fact that it saves time. So after we’re all dry and I’ve managed to wrangle a nappy on him (for the sake of our carpet) I try to encourage some ‘quiet’ time chilling out and reading on our bed. Which to the monster means body-slamming piles of pillows, playing with the totally out of bounds lights, and laughing like a maniac. Oh and intermittently reminding me where my ‘eye’ is by poking his little finger in it. Thank you child, my left eyeball was merely there for show.

I decided a few nights ago to get the camera out to capture the craziness that is the post-bath, pre-bed wrangle. It’s not surprising that when I ask Lachie if he is ready for bed the definite answer is NO.

10 comments
  1. Laura, this made me laugh so much! It is such a familiar scene and all too close to home after last nights dinner fiasco!

    • lauragofton said:

      Haha, glad you got a giggle out of it Jess. What happened last night? And hey just saw you started a blog, looking forward to following along with it. x laura

      • Daddy had a uni friend over to study, and leo wanted to play! I had to wrangle him, while cooking schnitzels and veges… the only thing that he was happy to do was bash metal lids on pots. hard. Needless to say I had a humongous headache! before that, I just had to chase him around the house in between peeling and chopping and frying! Thanks for popping over to my blog 🙂 It’s going to be a therapeutic outlet. Hopefully there’ll be something worth reading at some point 😉

      • lauragofton said:

        Oh dear, that sounds all too familiar actually. Days like that always make me think that it would a heap easier to just swap dinner and lunch. A sandwich would be doable with a feral toddler hanging off your leg.

  2. Aww, he looks adorable! Love that black and white of him smiling.

    • lauragofton said:

      Thank you. He is adorable, most of the time, you know when there’s no eye-gouging happening! 😛

    • lauragofton said:

      Hi Kellie, thanks for stopping by. I love your blog by the way, Olive is just gorgeous (and one of my all time favourite girls names too!). x Laura

  3. These photos are seriously precious. Lachie is SO cute.
    Man, the dinnertime/bedtime hour. I start psyching myself up for it from about 4pm. In fact, had a bit of meltdown moment at 6.30pm today due to stamina fail. But the boys are so cute – the younger two came up and kept smiling at me and making me laugh while Angus, as soon as he saw me, kept asking, “Mummy, why are you crying? Are you happy now? I will give you a big hug. Are you happy now?”
    Ronnie xo

    • lauragofton said:

      I can only imagine how challenging it would be with three boys Ronnie! Angus is such a sweetie. I find a deep breath does wonders. Hope you felt better after your hug. x

Leave a Reply

