Room for a monster

When the monster was still a belly baby and the pregnancy insomnia was at its worst I spent many early mornings trolling through the nursery tours at Apartment Therapy. I loved peeking in to the lives of real people to see how they made a special space for their little one. In planning the room, I wanted to make a space that could grow with Lachie, that wouldn’t need ‘updating’ once he was no longer a chubby newborn. The navy, red, grey and white colours will work through the next few years, at least until the monster starts asserting his preferences over mine.

What I love most about the room is that it’s so full of love; from the paintings we bought in Thailand when first engaged, to the beautiful mobile and quilt my sisters made for the monster when he was born, nearly everything has a story behind it. You’ll find a list of where everything is from at the end of the post. Enjoy peeking into the monsters love-filled space!






Source List:

  • Cot ‘Scout’ by KingParrot
  • Cot sheet by Purebaby
  • Quilt made by my sister Melinda
  • Roy Lichentstein art from Thailand
  • Surfboard signed by Joel Parkinson, Mick Fanning and Stephanie Gillmore a gift from our friend
  • Aeroplane mobile made by my sister Layla
  • Bookcase by Ikea
  • Bunting by Bannana J Creations
  • Small suitcases vintage, Troy’s dads from his schooldays
  • Red and white aeroplane ornament a gift from my mum from Japan
  • Red aeroplane ornament a gift from Layla
  • Red ‘transport’ art framed wrapping paper from Kikki-k
  • Change table by Childcare
  • Chest of drawers by Ikea
  • Rocking chair from opshop (handed down from Troy’s sister) with cushions recovered by Troy’s mum in Ikea fabric
  • Puppy painting from Thailand
  • Bus scroll print by My Sweet Prints
  • Monster print by Wendy June
  • ‘L’ painting by the monster (with some help from his mum)
  • Globe by National Geographic, a gift from my mum
  • Surfer ornaments, Troy’s grandmas from circa 1950’s
  • Bedtime books; Slinky Malinki by Lynley Dodd and Time for Bed by Mem Fox and Jane Dyer (a gift from my Aunty)
10 comments
    • lauragofton said:

      Thank you!

  1. Diane Blanckensee said:

    Laura the blog is great. The room looks great esp with surfboard now up, Love Mum

  2. Ronnie said:

    Such a wonderful and vibrant room Laura! So glad Soph posted about this on her blog. I just love the little corner with the suitcases and the mobile, and the doggy artwork works so well! You’ve inspired me to track down a vintage globe… πŸ™‚
    Ronnie xo

    • lauragofton said:

      Hi Ronnie, Thanks for stopping by and for the kind words. I’d love a vintage globe or two as well, this one is from National Geographic and is a touch light so you can imagine is very tempting for the toddler!

      I love your blog by the way, look forward to having a good flick through after the little one goes to bed!

  3. Goregous room.. so many things bought from stores on my website.. that make me smile πŸ™‚

    I have the bus scroll too.. it is a classic.. ADORE that painting from Thailand.. really cool! x

    • Laura said:

      Thanks for stopping by Tessa. I love the bus scroll, it was the first thing I bought for Lachie’s when I found out I was pregnant.

      x laura

  4. It’s incredible πŸ™‚

    The whole room is incredible, & kudos to you for making it grow with him!

    You did it … perfectly!

    My mistake was making Max’s nursery too baby-baby, because I walk in now, & it just doesn’t even reflect his toddler years, let alone any time beyond these years.

    Whoops! πŸ˜‰

    Well done Mama!

    x

    • Laura said:

      Thank you Cherie. I think it’s nice to have a proper ‘baby’ nursery though. To be fair this is the second version of his room as we moved house when he was about 6 months and then I kind of built on it over the next 6 months.

      Looking forward to getting the chance to do another kids room sometime down the track.

      Can’t wait to see what you do with Max’s big boy room! x Laura

Leave a Reply

